This post contains affiliate links. We're an Amazon affiliate. That means that we get small commissions for some items you buy through links in this post. And you don't get higher expenses that way. Thanks for that!
Electric scooters are the newest transportation trend that might never leave! They provide a practical, ecological, and economical means of transportation for commuters and pleasure seekers.
However, the electric micro-mobility phenomenon also spurred a flood of complaints from pedestrians and metropolitan. So, after law enforcement evaluated the social implications, are electric scooters street legal?
Electric scooters are street legal, except in Pennsylvania and Delaware. In addition, electric scooters aren’t allowed on highways and high-speed roads (limit over 35 mph). Each state has different laws regarding sidewalks, minimum age, max speed, helmets and registration, license, and insurance.
While electric scooters are taking over the United States, it’s imperative to know (and follow) the strict laws of your state before hopping on and heading to the streets.
So, here’s a guide that will shed some light on whether electric scooters are legal and the federal legislation attached to them.
Are Electric Scooters Street Legal?
Electric scooters are street-legal in most states.
Only two states ban electric scooters entirely on the streets: Pennsylvania and Delaware.
Electric scooters are street legal
Although legal in most US states, the laws regarding where and how you’re allowed to ride electric scooters differ between states.
Electric scooters have caused explosive growth in micro-mobility, providing an array of transportation benefits. They are convenient, environmentally friendly (low-carbon), cheap, and efficient.
However, with the array of benefits comes counteractive effects – traffic obstruction, sidewalk congestion, potential accidents, and health concerns. The drawbacks have brought micro-mobility to the forefront of United States lawmakers’ attention.
Today, several laws and restrictions exist around electric scooters which aim to protect riders and the community. Some states have stricter laws than others.
Current Electric Scooter Laws
Electric scooters aren’t allowed on highways and high-speed streets (streets with a speed limit over 35 mph).
However, some states limit electric scooters to even lower speed roads (see below).
Current Electric Scooter Laws
Riders need to follow general driving and traffic rules – driving on the right side of the road, yielding to pedestrians, and observing traffic signals.
Electric Scooter Minimum Age Requirements
In most states, the minimum age requirement to ride electric scooters is 16.
These states include Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Kansas, Nevada, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and Virginia (Arlington).
However, several states are more liberal.
Utah – 15 years old
Virginia & Mississippi – 14 years old
Minnesota & Michigan – 12 years old
Are Electric Scooters Permitted On The Sidewalk?
Riding electric scooters on the sidewalk is only officially banned in 10 states. However, it is frowned upon in most urban areas.
Riding electric scooters on sidewalks
It is not surprising that some states have banned riding electric scooters on sidewalks.
The speeds are dangerous on sidewalks where there are plenty of pedestrians, bicyclists, and obstructions on the sidewalk that can cause accidents.
The specific laws for riding electric scooters on sidewalks are slightly complicated, as several states fail to mention sidewalk use in their regulations.
So, we recommend verifying the legality with your local Department of Motor Vehicles before riding your electric scooter on the sidewalk.
It is against the law to ride an electric scooter on sidewalks in the following ten states:
You can legally ride electric scooters on sidewalks in states: Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Louisiana, Rhode Island, and Virginia.
What Is The Maximum Speed For Riding Electric Scooters?
Most US states have a 20-mph speed limit for electric scooters.
Here’s an overview of the maximum speed limits per state.
Max of 10 to 15 mph
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Washington (10 mph), Wyoming
Max of 20 mph
Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey (19 mph), New Mexico, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin
Max of 30 mph
Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Michigan (45 mph), Missouri (45 mph), North Carolina (15 mph in downtown destinations), North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas (35 mph)
Helmet Requirements for Electric Scooters
Most states require that minors under 18 years old wear a helmet.
However, other states have extended the law to wear helmets for all ages.
Helmet Requirements for Electric Scooters
Massachusetts requires all ages to wear a helmet
Michigan requires riders 19 and younger to wear a helmet
Louisiana requires riders 17 and younger to wear a helmet
Alabama, Connecticut, and Delaware require riders 16 and younger to wear a helmet
California, Minnesota, New York, North Dakota, and Oklahoma require riders 18 and younger to wear a helmet
Even if you aren’t legally obligated to wear a helmet when riding an electric scooter, it is highly recommended for your safety. An accident can cause severe head trauma irrespective of your travel speed.
Registration Requirements for Electric Scooters
Most states require DMV registration for motorcycles and mopeds.
However, electric scooters are subject to each state. Fewer restrictions exist as they are easier to use than motor vehicles.
North Carolina is the only state that requires DMV registration.
License Requirements for Electric Scooters
In nine states, electric scooter riders must have a valid driver or M license.
However, we doubt that driver’s licenses will become the new norm as micro-mobility gives affordable transportation access to those who cannot afford motor vehicles.
The following states require a license to ride an electric scooter:
Alabama: M License
Alaska: 14 to 15 years olds require an M2 Permit, and 16+ require an M1 or M3 Permit
California: valid driver's license
Illinois: people under 17 years require a license.
Kansas: valid driver's license
Maine: valid driver's license
Massachusetts: valid driver's license
North Carolina: DMV registration
Rhode Island (Providence): valid driver's licenses
Insurance Requirements for Electric Scooters
In most states, local and federal transportation agencies don’t require electric scooter riders to carry insurance.
Illinois and Texas require riders to have electric scooter insurance if the motor surpasses 750 Watts.
There are no clear set laws for electric scooters. They are constantly updating, and your obligation is to verify the legality of electric scooters in your city.
Always follow your state and city’s regulations and enjoy the riding experience. Lastly, WEAR YOUR HELMET for safety regardless of the law regulations.
For many consumers, the main appeal of owning a scooter is being able to fly down roads and over trails at incredible speeds. We all want that rush of feeling the wind whip past as we recapture a sense of freedom.
That is why we have put together a guide to the fastest electric scooters out there in the market. We want to help you get the exhilaration of a high-speed machine while you explore the outside world.
Strong on the road, ruthless on your joints – Hiboy S2 PRO, with its robust construction, decent range, minimal maintenance requirements, and affordable price is without the doubt one of the most attractive electric scooters for beginners on the market.